Competition
Inclusion

VWFL and VBFL season to resume after extended layoff


12 OCT 2021 BY: AFL VICTORIA
Richmond and Collingwood face off in Round 2 of the 2021 Robert Rose Foundation Victorian Wheelchair Football League

After an extended layoff, AFL Victoria in partnership with Disability Sport and Recreation is pleased to announce the resumption of the Robert Rose Foundation Victorian Wheelchair Football League and Energy Safe Victoria Blind Football League competitions under COVID Safe Protocols.

The pending return to play signifies an exciting moment for community football, as competitive sport is welcomed back in line with the easing of restrictions.

Both competitions will resume in November and offer an action-packed month of football with revised fixtures to accommodate the remaining rounds and finals.

After managing only two rounds before the COVID interruption, the ESV VBFL season will recommence on Saturday, November 13, and the remaining games will be played across three separate weekends with the Grand Final taking place on Saturday, December 4.

Meanwhile, the RRF VWFL will play a final round of matches on Sunday, November 14, before the finals take place across two weekends with the Grand Final on Sunday, November 28.

AFL Victoria wishes to thank Energy Safe Victoria and the Robert Rose Foundation for their continued support and commitment to the two leagues.

Upcoming Fixtures:

*All return to play dates are subject to State Government COVID-19 restrictions.

Energy Safe Victorian Blind Football League

Saturday 13th November (Rounds 3,4 & 5)

Saturday 20th November (Rounds 6,7 & 8)

Saturday 27th November (Round 9 & Semi Finals)

Saturday 4th December (Grand Final)

Robert Rose Foundation Victorian Wheelchair Football League

Sunday 14th November (Last Round of Matches)

Sunday 21st November (Semi Finals and Preliminary Final)

Sunday 28th November (Grand Final)

Updates on these competitions will be provided on our website aflvic.com.au and social media channels.