Published on March 5, 2020 6:45 pm


Richmond will be adding some new talent to their VWFL squad as they start their premiership defence in the Robert Rose Foundation Victorian Wheelchair Football League.

Round 1 of the 2020 VWFL season will take place at Boroondara Sports Complex on Sunday 24th May.

The Tigers have added Angelo Mavroudis (Essendon), St Kilda duo Kermie Breydon and Christy Arulnesathasan, and VWFL debutant Mitch Stretton.

The league has taken a considerable step forward heading into its third season introducing a five-point Classification System to provide equal opportunity for people with disability and impairment to participate in the game. Players were classified over the course of three Open Days run through February, by Lisa Chaffey and Don Perriman.

Chaffey has been appointed VWFL Chief Classifier and will continue to assess the framework over the course of the season to ensure it meets the needs of the league and its participants.

Disability Programs Manager Scott Nicholas said the Robert Rose Foundation Victorian Wheelchair Football League is a great opportunity for wheelchair users to experience football in an elite environment.

“We’ve had two fantastic seasons of the VWFL, and with the introduction of classification and some new faces, we’re looking forward to building upon that success in 2020,” Mr Nicholas said.

The sport of AFL Wheelchair is fully inclusive, meaning people with or without a physical disability or impairment are welcome to play. Although the sport is played on an indoor basketball court, and a handball is the equivalent of a kick, many of the traditional Australian Football rules still apply.

With increasing interest in the Robert Rose Foundation Victorian Wheelchair Football League, AFL Victoria aims to work closely with each AFL Club and Disability Sport & Recreation, to provide community engagement and participation opportunities to grow and develop the sport of AFL Wheelchair in Victoria.

Alex Gale-Grime Anthony Perito Alastair McNeil Adam Georgelin Caitlin Alger
Andrew Paddle Anthony Arulnesathasan Antonet Pavilupillai Angelo Mavroudis Jordan Kinniburgh
Arnold Razon Caleb Logan Jaylen Brown Ben Milton Judeland Antony
Ben Jankovski James Leonard Jeremy O’Halloran Chris Henderson Lenny Redrose
Brendan Stroud Jason Jinks Joanna Argaet Christy Arulnesathasan Liam Fitzgerald
Brett Newman Louis Rowe Joe Chivers Kermie Breydon Nathan Wilburn
Brian Owens Mark Walker Peter Ogunyemi Miranda Charlton Patrick McKay
Jason Heagerty Nicholas Briant Rosie Jenes Mitchell Stretton Peter Richardson
Josh Christian Sam Maraldo Troy Hawkins Vincent Naidu Rory Briant
Riley Fitzgerald William Taylor Will Firth Yasmina McGlone Ryan Smith


Please see full 2020 fixture below:

It's only fair to share...Share on Facebook
0Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on LinkedIn

Premier partners

Official Partners

Official licencee / supplier

Community Partners