Published on September 5, 2016 1:10 pm

TAC Cup Top 25 Player Rankings revealed

Former Geelong Falcon Gary Ablett Jnr. has been crowned the No.1 player from the 25 year history of AFL Victoria’s TAC Cup competition.

Ablett was announced as the best TAC Cup Top 25 player at the Morrish Medal night, edging out Chris Judd (Sandringham Dragons), Adam Goodes (North Ballarat Rebels), Brad Johnson (Western Jets) and Matthew Lloyd (Western Jets) for the coveted top spot in the rankings.

Chosen from over 1,000 former TAC Cup players drafted to the AFL, Ablett’s 288-game AFL resume was hard to overlook, featuring an overflowing trophy cabinet including:

  • 2 Brownlow Medals (2009, 2013)
  • 8 All Australian selections (2007-14)
  • 5 AFLPA Player of the Year awards (2007-09, 2012-13)
  • 5 club best & fairest awards (Geelong 2007,09 / Gold Coast 2011-13)
  • 2 AFL premierships (2007, 2009)

Celebrating the success of the TAC Cup since its inception in 1992, the remarkable talent to have emerged from the competition was recognised with the ranking of the Top 25, featuring a who’s who of the best players in the AFL over the last two decades.

The final rankings, decided by a panel including Kevin Sheehan, Anton Grbac and Leon Harris, showcases the long list of achievements by former TAC Cup players in the AFL.

  • CLICK HERE for the complete TAC Cup Top 25 player rankings list…
It's only fair to share...Share on Facebook
0Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on LinkedIn