Indigenous News

Stars claim inaugural Koorie Female Cup

22 NOV 2017

The Fitzroy Stars have etched their names into the history books after claiming the inaugural Koorie Female Football Carnival title at Punt Road Oval on Sunday.

With eight teams participating in the two-day event, it was the Fitzroy Stars and Australian Defence Force (ADF) squads who remained in the hunt for the inaugural title after producing strong performances throughout the round-robin series.

Despite not capitalising on a number of opportunities in front of goal, Fitzroy Stars managed to secure a 10-point win over a determined ADF squad. The final margin 3.10 (28) def 3.0. (18).

Fitzroy’s Natasha Bamlett was unstoppable across the carnival, named the Most Valuable Player of the competition, while ADF’s Shikira Henry was crowned best player for her side.

In partnership with Victoria Aboriginal Community Services Association Ltd. (VACSAL), the state-wide Koorie Women’s Football Carnival was the first opportunity Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander women have had to showcase their skills in an all-female Indigenous Australian Football competition.

Over 200 Indigenous women laced up the boots to participate in the two-day event, with players representing communities from all corners of the state including Mildura, Shepparton, Heywood and Dandenong.

In addition to the on-field entertainment, supporters enjoyed a host of family friendly activities including football themed inflatables, face painting, a balloon artist and DJ.

Melbourne Football Club star and former Victorian Kickstart player Jay Kennedy-Harris, Australia Post AFL Multicultural Player Ambassador Helen Roden and TAC Cup Girls Calder Cannons player Madison Prespakis were also in attendance to lend their support and advice to the players from the sidelines.

While not everyone was able to qualify for the Grand Final, a number of players were acknowledged for their outstanding performances across the event and awarded with the Best Player Medal for their respective squads.

See the list below for all the winners:

  • Mallee Tigers: Nerissa Narburup
  • Koorie Kurburoos: Madison Burridge
  • Bunurong: Shaniah Gardner
  • GMG: Emma Mc Neil
  • Australian Defence Force: Shikira Henry
  • Fitzroy Stars: Natasha Bamlett
  • Cummeragunja: Analeise Hamilton
  • Rumbalara: Lakeea Charles

Best Player overall:

  • Fitzroy Stars: Natasha Bamlett