Published on September 25, 2018 3:13 pm

Meeng crowned Volunteer of the Year

Officer Kangaroos Junior Football Club (OKJFC) volunteer Michael Meeng has been recognised for his tireless contribution to football with the 2018 AFL State Volunteer of the Year Award.

It's only fair to share...Share on Facebook
0Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on Google+
0Share on LinkedIn

Involved in football for almost 30 years, Michael has taken on a number of roles at both the OKJFC and Rythdale Officer Cardinia Football Club since he first began in 1990.

Michael’s passion for the club and the game is infectious and his work in ensuring OKJFC is a welcoming place for young people to be a part of is valued by many in the community.

Michael was one of 24 Victorian Volunteer of the Year nominees who were acknowledged this season for their valuable contribution to Australian Football.

As Victoria’s State Volunteer of the Year Award winner, Michael will enjoy an AFL experience of a lifetime and be part of the Toyota Grand Final Parade on September 28, before heading to the MCG to watch the 2018 Toyota AFL Grand Final between Collingwood and West Coast.

In addition, AFL Victoria has also recognised Power House Amateur Football Club volunteer Nic Pavlou for his outstanding contribution to his local football community.

Both men will have their achievements acknowledged at this year’s AFL Victoria Community Football Awards in November.

Held annually, the AFL’s State Volunteer of the Year Program recognises the valuable contribution volunteers make to our great game.

All affiliated AFL Victoria Clubs and Leagues are invited to nominate an outstanding volunteer who selflessly dedicates their time and effort to the club and acts in the best interest of the game.

Each year AFL Victoria recognises two volunteers from those nominated, one who is selected as the State Volunteer of the Year and a second person who is recognised for their outstanding contribution.

See below for a list of this year’s Victorian nominees:

First name Surname Club
Rodney O’Neill Kyabram JFC
Chris Farrell Shepparton FNC
Carmen Spong Coleraine FNC
Pam McGrath Maffra FNC
Ella Angarane Bass Coast Breakers Womens Football
Michael Meeng Officer Kangaroos JFC
Mal Robinson Murray Bushrangers FC
Michael Odgers Hampton Park JFC
Zennon McCarty Wodonga Raiders JFC
Tracy Bakos Lindenow South FNC
Emily Turnbull La Trobe University FC
Edward Stanton Boolarra JFC
Donald Clarke Rushworth FNC
Donna McDonald Avenel FNC
Jacinta Jubb Caramut FNC
Samantha Webster Tarneit Titans under 15s girls
Rob Huggins Wandin JFC
Nick Duryea Coburg Lions Football Club – VFL
Lorissa Edwards Darley FNC
Nic Pavlou Power House AFC
Sean Lenehan Warrnambool District FNL
Chris Brown Narre Warren South Lions FC
Terry O’Connor Edithvale Aspendale FNC
Sam Muzzi Congupna FNC


It's only fair to share...Share on Facebook
0Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on Google+
0Share on LinkedIn

Premier partners

Official Partners

Official licencee / supplier

Community Partners