Published on June 6, 2017 2:58 pm

Initial Energy Safe Vic Country U19 squad released

AFL Victoria is pleased to announce the initial WorkSafe AFL Victoria Country Energy Safe Under 19 squad ahead of its Under 19 Challenge Cup clash with the Victorian Amateur Football Association (VAFA) next month.

It's only fair to share...Share on Facebook
0Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on LinkedIn

Fifty-three of country Victoria’s best under 19 players have been selected in the initial squad which will go head-to-head with the VAFA’s top talent at Frankston Oval on July 8.

Twelve different country football leagues have representatives included in the initial squad, with Ovens & Murray FL (11), Mornington Peninsula Nepean FL (10) and Geelong FL (nine) boasting the most selections.

Three training sessions will be conducted in the lead up to the representative clash, with the final squad to be trimmed to 22-players.

Victoria’s brightest young regional talent will once again be led by Yarrawonga co-coach Damien Sexton, who will suit up for his ninth season at the helm.

The Energy Safe Victoria Country Under 19 squad has recorded emphatic victories in its last three encounters against VAFA, in what has fast become one of the great traditional rivalries between the bush and the burbs.

AFL Victoria Community Football Operations Manager, Gerard Ryan said the annual event would provide a platform for players to further their careers.

“The Under 19 Challenge Cup clash between the Energy Safe AFL Victoria Country and VAFA under 19 teams provides another opportunity for talented young players to perform in a high level match against some of the best talent in Victoria,” Ryan said.

“The program also provides players with an opportunity to learn from other players and coaches outside their regions and showcase their skills to enhance their recruitment prospects into VFL and even potentially AFL programs.”

The Under 19 Challenge Cup will kick off at 11:30am on Saturday July 8 as a curtain raiser to the Brian Molony Cup between Vic Country and VAFA.

See list below for initial Energy Safe Under 19s Vic Country squad:


Jake Moorhead Bendigo Strathfieldsaye FNC
Jackson McMahon Gippsland Traralgon FNC
Louis Riseley Gippsland Leongatha FNC
Tyler Hillier Gippsland Morwell FNC
Thomas Kelly Gippsland Warragul FNC
Luke Smith Goulburn Valley Shepparton FNC
Zachery Norris Goulburn Valley Kyabram FNC
Angus Byrne Goulburn Valley Echuca FNC
Brad Whitford Goulburn Valley Kyabram FNC
Liam Duguid Goulburn Valley Shepparton FNC
Jonty Marciano Sunraysia Red Cliffs FNC
Mitch Eade Murray Moama FNC
Ned Nihill Murray Nathalia FNC
Bowen Smith Murray Nathalia FNC
Jake Page Ovens & Murray Albury FNC
Brad Melville Ovens & Murray Wangaratta FNC
Daniel Sharrock Ovens & Murray Wangaratta FNC
Jay O’Donoghue Ovens & Murray Corowa FNC
Will Robinson Ovens & Murray Corowa FNC
Shaun Mannagh Ovens & Murray North Albury FNC
Billy Robertson Ovens & Murray Albury FNC
Cooper Page Ovens & Murray Albury FNC
Braiden Coburn Ovens & Murray Yarrawonga FNC
Damon Hemphill Ovens & Murray Yarrawonga FNC
Jack Kirley Ovens & Murray Lavington FNC
Hasker Dawbon Ballarat East Point FNC
Lachlan Walker Ballarat Melton FNC
Jacob Wheelahan Ballarat Bacchus Marsh FNC
Hamish Coulton Ballarat Bacchus Marsh FNC
Naish McRoberts Wimmera Stawell FNC
Jake Kelly Mornington Peninsula Karingal FNC
Robert Turnbull Mornington Peninsula Mt Eliza FNC
Timothy Susovich Mornington Peninsula Mornington FNC
Sean Downie Mornington Peninsula Rosebud FNC
Zac Andrewartha Mornington Peninsula Langwarrin FNC
Charlie Martello Mornington Peninsula Edithvale Aspendale FNC
Liam Mckay Mornington Peninsula Edithvale Aspendale FNC
Daniel Hughes Mornington Peninsula Frankston YCW FNC
Matthew LaFontaine Mornington Peninsula Frankston YCW FNC
Luke Payntor Mornington Peninsula Frankston YCW FNC
Kobe Lloyd Central Murray Balranald FNC
Mitch Diamond Geelong Newtown/Chilwell FNC
Jack Blood Geelong St.Marys FNC
Paddy Dowling Geelong St. Marys FNC
Pat Killen Geelong St.Marys FNC
Jackson McLachlan Geelong St.Josephs FNC
Jack Quinn Geelong St.Josephs FNC
Trent Thompson Geelong Leopold FNC
Liam McCarthy Geelong Colac FNC
Zac Zdybel Geelong Colac FNC
James Gow Hampden Koroit FNC
Shannon Becks Hampden South Warrnambool FNC
Jarrod Korewha Hampden North Warrnambool Eagles FNC


It's only fair to share...Share on Facebook
0Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on LinkedIn

Related Articles

Premier partners

Official Partners

Official licencee / supplier

Community Partners