Published on May 16, 2017 7:36 am

Geelong Football Netball League still number one

The Geelong FNL has stamped its authority as the best community football league in Victoria, after defeating Mornington Peninsula Nepean FL by 24-points in the 2017 WorkSafe AFL Victoria Community Championships on Saturday.

In front of an enthusiastic crowd at the MCG, the reigning championships got out of the blocks early to pile on five majors in the opening term to take a 21-point lead.

Mornington wrestled back momentum in the second quarter with a host of inside-50 entries, yet missed opportunities in front of goal saw the boys from the south east trail by 21-points at the main break.

With both sides fighting hard for the ball in the second and third efforts, the battle for the number one ranking continued to heat up.

While Mornington’s Matt La Fontaine, Nick Corp and Luke Tapscott kicked truly in the last term, Geelong’s pressure and dominance up forward was simply too strong.

North Shore’s Jason Davenport and Koroit’s Sam Dobson finished the game with three goals each, while Simon Close and Cam Delaney bagged two majors a piece.

Geelong’s Matthew McMahon took home best on ground honours for the winning side, while Shane McDonald was judged the best player for Mornington.

The win sees Geelong FNL remain the number one ranked community league in Victoria, while Mornington Peninsula Nepean FL slip down to third in season 2018.

The Eastern FL has secured another chance at playing for the top-ranking position next season after defeating fellow metropolitan league Essendon District FL by two-points in a thriller at Bayswater.

With just a 19-point buffer separating the pair at three-quarter time, a fast finishing Essendon DFL ran out of puff in the last term, with Eastern FL managing two goals to seal the victory.

Eastern will move to second place to face Geelong FL in season 2018, while Essendon fall to fifth.

In other results, Northern FL moves up the rankings tally to fourth place after a convincing win over Western Region FL at Preston City Oval, while Ovens & Murray FNL took home regional bragging rights over Goulburn Valley FNL with a seven-point win.

Other winners for the day included Ballarat FNL, Hampden FL, AFL Yarra Ranges, Murray FL, Central Murray FNL, Geelong & District FNL, Southern FNL, Riddell DFNL, Maryborough Castlemaine DFNL, Horsham DFNL and Kyabram DFNL.

  • CLICK HERE for a list of all the 2017 WorkSafe AFL Victoria Community Championships results….

Official 2018 WorkSafe AFL Victoria Community Championship Rankings will be announced soon. 

It's only fair to share...Share on Facebook
0Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on LinkedIn

Premier partners

Official Partners

Official licencee / supplier

Community Partners