Published on February 1, 2019 9:08 am

AFLW 2019 set to begin

A host of players from AFL Victoria’s talent competitions who joined AFL Women’s lists in 2018 are setting themselves to make an impact in the upcoming 2019 AFLW season.

It's only fair to share...Share on Facebook
0Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on LinkedIn

The third edition of the national women’s league kicks off under lights at GMHBA Stadium on Saturday, when Collingwood travels down the highway to face competition entrant Geelong.



The AFLW Cats added 21 Swisse Wellness VFL Women’s players (not already at an AFLW club) to their inaugural list last year, with seven of the club’s new recruits graduating from the 2018 TAC Cup Girls competition.

Geelong took former Geelong Falcons and Geelong VFLW player Nina Morrison with the top 2018 NAB AFL Women’s Draft selection, as well as Sophie Van De Heuvel (no.2 from GWV Rebels and Williamstown) and Rebecca Webster (no.7 from Murray Bushrangers and Melbourne Uni) with top-10 picks.

Meanwhile, fellow 2019 AFLW entrant North Melbourne signed 12 VFLW players not already on an AFLW list – including the likes of 2018 Melbourne Uni captain Ashleigh Riddell, joint Southern Saints best and fairest Alison Drennan and Collingwood VFLW forward Daisy Bateman, who graduated from the Oakleigh Chargers TAC Cup Girls program.

Overall, 40 players from AFL Victoria’s talent competitions were selected at last year’s AFLW Draft while 25 further VFLW players were either pre-listed by the new AFLW clubs, rookie-listed or named as replacement players.

* See the full lists of 2019 AFLW players who were recruited from VFLW clubs and have graduated from TAC Cup Girls clubs below.

The 10-team AFLW season runs over seven rounds, with a two-week finals series concluding on March 30 or 31 – click HERE for the full fixture.


VFLW recruits on 2019 AFLW lists:

ADELAIDE (4) Sarah Perkins Eastern Devils
Danielle Ponter Essendon VFLW
Nikki Gore NT Thunder
Katelyn Rosenzweig NT Thunder
BRISBANE (2) Lauren Arnell Darebin Falcons
Nat Exon Darebin Falcons
CARLTON (26) Chloe Dalton Carlton VFLW
Abbie McKay Carlton VFLW
Brooke Walker Carlton VFLW
Jessica Edwards Collingwood VFLW
Bridie Kennedy Cranbourne
Breann Moody Cranbourne
Darcy Vescio Darebin Falcons
Shae Audley Diamond Creek
Amelia Barden Diamond Creek
Lauren Brazzale Diamond Creek
Alison Downie Diamond Creek
Kerryn Harrington Diamond Creek
Reni Hicks Diamond Creek
Katie Loynes Diamond Creek
Jayde Van Dyk Hawthorn VFLW
Emerson Woods Hawthorn VFLW
Gabriella Pound Melbourne Uni
Madison Prespakis Melbourne Uni
Nicola Stevens Melbourne Uni
Jess Hosking Seaford
Sarah Hosking Seaford
Natalie Plane Seaford
Rhiannon Watt Southern Saints
Charlotte Wilson Southern Saints
Brianna Davey St Kilda Sharks
Tilly Lucas-Rodd St Kilda Sharks
COLLINGWOOD (20) Kristy Stratton Box Hill Hawks
Jordyn Allen Casey Demons
Georgia Gourlay Casey Demons
Maddie Shevlin Casey Demons
Sophie Alexander Collingwood VFLW
Erica Fowler Collingwood VFLW
Katie Lynch Collingwood VFLW
Darcy Guttridge Cranbourne
Holly Whitford Cranbourne
Stephanie Chiocci Diamond Creek
Sophie Casey Eastern Devils
Sarah D’Arcy Eastern Devils
Jaimee Lambert Eastern Devils
Mikala Cann Hawthorn VFLW
Melissa Kuys Knox
Nicole Hildebrand Melbourne Uni
Cecilia McIntosh Melbourne Uni
Brittany Bonnici St Kilda Sharks
Lauren Butler Western Bulldogs VFLW
* INACTIVE LIST: Chloe Molloy Diamond Creek
GEELONG (29) Rene Caris Carlton VFLW
Melissa Hickey Darebin Falcons
Meghan McDonald Darebin Falcons
Aasta O’Connor Darebin Falcons
Cassandra Blakeway Geelong Cats VFLW
Hannah Burchell Geelong Cats VFLW
Georgia Clarke Geelong Cats VFLW
Mia-Rae Clifford Geelong Cats VFLW
Elise Coventry Geelong Cats VFLW
Kate Darby Geelong Cats VFLW
Maighan Fogas Geelong Cats VFLW
Renee Garing Geelong Cats VFLW
Rebecca  Goring Geelong Cats VFLW
Erin Hoare Geelong Cats VFLW
Jordan Ivey Geelong Cats VFLW
Madeline Keryk Geelong Cats VFLW
Maddy McMahon Geelong Cats VFLW
Nina Morrison Geelong Cats VFLW
Danielle Orr Geelong Cats VFLW
Olivia Purcell Geelong Cats VFLW
Denby Taylor Geelong Cats VFLW
Anna Teague Geelong Cats VFLW
Hayley Trevean Geelong Cats VFLW
Julia Crockett-Grills Hawthorn VFLW
Rebecca Webster Melbourne Uni
Madeleine Boyd North Geelong
Richelle Cranston North Geelong
Phoebe McWilliams St Kilda Sharks
Sophie Van De Heuvel Williamstown
GWS (6) Jess Dal Pos Darebin Falcons
Christina Bernardi Diamond Creek
Tanya Hetherington Diamond Creek
Pepa Randall Eastern Devils
Alicia Eva Melbourne Uni
Louise Stephenson Melbourne Uni
MELBOURNE (23) Madeline Brancatisano Carlton VFLW
Tyla Hanks Carlton VFLW
Chantel Emonson Casey Demons
Casey Sherriff Casey Demons
Shae Sloane Casey Demons
Bianca Jakobsson Cranbourne
Elise O’Dea Darebin Falcons
Brooke Patterson Darebin Falcons
Karen Paxman Darebin Falcons
Lauren Pearce Darebin Falcons
Katherine Smith Eastern Devils
Catherine Phillips Melbourne Uni
Lily Mithen North Geelong
Jordann Hickey NT Thunder
Shelley Heath Southern Saints
Meg Downie St Kilda Sharks
Maddison Gay St Kilda Sharks
Kate Hore St Kilda Sharks
Ashleigh Guest VU Western Spurs
Ainslie Kemp VU Western Spurs
Sarah Lampard VU Western Spurs
Shelley Scott VU Western Spurs
*INACTIVE LIST: Daisy Pearce Darebin Falcons
NORTH MELBOURNE (21) Taylor Mesiti Casey Demons
Daisy Bateman Collingwood VFLW
Jasmine Grierson Cranbourne
Danielle Hardiman Cranbourne
Jessica Duffin Diamond Creek
Jessica Trend Essendon VFLW
Sophie Abbatangelo Melbourne Uni
Kaitlyn Ashmore Melbourne Uni
Nicole Bresnehan Melbourne Uni
Chloe Haines Melbourne Uni
Libby Haines Melbourne Uni
Emma Kearney Melbourne Uni
Ashleigh Riddell Melbourne Uni
Maddison  Smith Melbourne Uni
Bethany Lynch Richmond VFLW
Kate Gillespie-Jones Seaford
Alison Drennan Southern Saints
Courteney Munn Southern Saints
Jenna Bruton St Kilda Sharks
Jasmine Garner St Kilda Sharks
Moana Hope St Kilda Sharks
WESTERN BULLDOGS (21) Emma Mackie Box Hill Hawks
Celine Moody Carlton VFLW
Kirsten McLeod Cranbourne
Hayley Wildes Cranbourne
Libby Birch Darebin Falcons
Katie Brennan Darebin Falcons
Nicole Callinan Darebin Falcons
Tiarna Ernst Diamond Creek
Kirsty Lamb Diamond Creek
Hannah Scott Eastern Devils
Deanna Berry Melbourne Uni
Ellie Blackburn Melbourne Uni
Monique Conti Melbourne Uni
Bailey Hunt Melbourne Uni
Isabel Huntington Melbourne Uni
Brooke Lochland Melbourne Uni
Lauren Spark Melbourne Uni
Eleanor Brown Southern Saints
Selena Karlson Southern Saints
Naomi Ferres VU Western Spurs
Jessie Davies Western Bulldogs VFLW


Former TAC Cup Girls players on 2019 AFLW lists:

CARLTON (6) Madison Prespakis Calder Cannons
Georgia Gee Dandenong Stingrays
Bridie Kennedy Dandenong Stingrays
Charlotte Wilson Eastern Ranges
Emerson Woods Eastern Ranges
Abbie McKay Sandringham Dragons
COLLINGWOOD (9) Sarah Dargan Calder Cannons
Jordyn Allen Dandenong Stingrays
Mikala Cann Eastern Ranges
Darcy Guttridge Gippsland Power
Holly Whitford Gippsland Power
Lauren Butler GWV Rebels
Iilish Ross Murray Bushrangers
Katie Lynch Oakleigh Chargers
* INACTIVE LIST: Chloe Molloy Calder Cannons
GEELONG (7) Nina Morrison Geelong Falcons
Olivia Purcell Geelong Falcons
Denby Taylor Geelong Falcons
Rene Caris GWV Rebels
Georgia Clarke GWV Rebels
Sophie Van De Heuvel GWV Rebels
Rebecca Webster Murray Bushrangers
MELBOURNE (5) Eden Zanker Bendigo Pioneers
Shelley Heath Dandenong Stingrays
Tyla Hanks Gippsland Power
Madeline Brancatisano Northern Knights
Madeleine Guerin Northern Knights
NORTH MELBOURNE (1) Daisy Bateman Oakleigh Chargers
WESTERN BULLDOGS (2) Monique Conti Calder Cannons
Eleanor Brown Sandringham Dragons


It's only fair to share...Share on Facebook
0Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on LinkedIn

Premier partners

Official Partners

Official licencee / supplier

Community Partners