Published on June 7, 2019 3:54 pm

AFL Victoria Metro U25 Representative Side to play U25 Tasmania State League

The Under 25 side selected from AFL Victoria Metropolitan leagues will play against an Under 25 Tasmanian State League side on Sunday, 9 June at University of Tasmania Stadium in Launceston.

It's only fair to share...Share on Facebook
0Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on LinkedIn

The team has been selected from a squad nominated by each metropolitan league following performances in the recent WorkSafe Community Championships.

These players are seen to be some of the best under 25-year-old players who are currently in community football leagues across Melbourne.

A number of the players are on VFL club lists however none have played a game of VFL football. This match is aimed at providing another opportunity for these players to progress along their career pathway and showcase their talent on the big stage.

Over the past three weeks, the group has been training with Head Coach Brian Royal, Ben Lockwood, Brad Julier and Michael Schmerling, who have selected the final team.

The selected team is the senior metro side for 2019, with the WorkSafe AFL Victoria Country side playing the VAFA in their biannual fixture.

The match will be part of a three-game carnival on the day, alongside the NAB U18 Tasmania v Murray Bushrangers (10am) and NAB AFL U18 Championships Allies v Vic Country (12.30pm), providing recruiters the chance to see potential talent for the future.

AFL Victoria would like to thank all the nominated players who trained and assisted in making this program a total success. All players who were part of the training squad have represented their clubs and leagues in a magnificent manner and deserve congratulations for their commitment.

The Tasmania v Vic Metro U25 game will be streamed on the AFL Tas YouTube channel, which is accessible HERE.

Match Details:

WHO: Victoria Metro U25 Representative Side v U25 Tasmania State League

WHEN: Sunday, 9 June

TIME: 3.00pm

VENUE: University of Tasmania Stadium, Launceston


Team List:

AFL Victoria Metro Under 25


Backs Lachlan East (Hurstbridge) Will Clarke (St. Pauls) Dale Marshall (Bundoora)
Half Back Joseph Fisher (Vermont) Kristen Feehan (Dingley) Dalton Comito (Essendon Doutta Stars)
Centre Jordan Boyd (Spotswood) Lachlan McDonald (Rowville) Josh MacDonald (Altona)
Half Forward Jhye Baddeley-Kelly (North Heidelberg) Mackenzie Bristow (East Malvern) Connor Thar (Werribee Districts)
Forwards Marcus Calvaresi (Essendon Doutta Stars) Joel Cusack (Noble Park) Liam McVeigh (West Preston Lakeside)
Rucks Chris Carey (East Malvern) Anthony Brolic (Rowville) Tom Wallis (Essendon Doutta Stars)
Interchange Jake Hobbs (Taylors Lakes) Campbell Wearne (Essendon Doutta Stars) Robbie McComb (Vermont)
  Harrison Tanner (Taylors Lakes) Tom Simpson (Hurstbridge)
Emergency Lachlan Tanner (Taylors Lakes)


Tasmanian State League U25


Backs James Holmes Samuel Siggins Arion Richter-Salter
Half Back Jake Smith Harrison Gunther Jay Foon
Centre Casey Brown Ben Kamaric Josh McGuiness
Half Forward Alexander Saunders Edward Trupp Henry Kerinaiua
Forwards Callen Daly Aiden Grace Sherrin Egger
Rucks Alexander Lee Kieran Lovell Joshua Ponting
Interchange James Webb Bailey Boag Eiljah Reardon
  Phillip Bellchambers Callum Kilpatrick
Emergency Cameron Duffy Sam Burge Nat Franklin


It's only fair to share...Share on Facebook
0Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on LinkedIn

Premier partners

Official Partners

Official licencee / supplier

Community Partners