Published on December 13, 2019 9:16 am

Photo: Lawrence Raja

2019 VBFL End of Season Celebration

Steeds wins last round thriller to claim the inaugural Victorian Blind Football League Best and Fairest.

It's only fair to share...Share on Facebook
0Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on LinkedIn

Bulldogs star Jasper Steeds has been awarded with the Best and Fairest at RSEA Park, St Kilda Football Club, Moorabbin, on Saturday night.

The End of Season Celebration welcomed 60 guests to celebrate the first season of the Victorian Blind Football League, with many individuals and teams recognised throughout the night.

Steeds took home top honours after polling 32 votes, ahead of St Kilda’s Shannon Jones (29 votes) and Hawthorn’s John Boland (25 votes).

Steeds was one of the most Bulldogs’ consistent performers, dominating in the centre and up forward with Steeds also taking home the VBFL Leading Goal Scorer award with 50 goals for the season.

The Bulldogs star polled in seven out of nine possible matches. Steeds also kicked more than five goals on five separate occasions outlining his versatility across the forward-centre line.

Club Best and Fairest award winners were also announced on the night, with William Kelly and Nick Lambourne joint winners for the Bombers, Jasper Steeds (Bulldogs), Ned Brewer-Maiga (Hawthorn Football Club) and Shannon Jones (St Kilda) claiming top honours.

The inaugural 2019 Team of the Year was also unveiled, with nine players selected in the final team.

Named in the forward line was Bulldog’s duo Caleb Neyenhuis and Jasper Steeds. Named in the centre was Bulldogs player Steve O’Beid and Hawthorn’s Ned Brewer-Maiga. Selected in the backline was Bulldogs captain David Gauci and St Kilda’s Shannon Jones. The interchange was made up of Bomber’s Scott Puecker, Hawthorn’s John Boland and St Kilda’s Ingrid McKenna.

The Bombers were also awarded with the AFL Values Award for consistently displaying the values of the AFL and the Victorian Blind Football League throughout the 2019 season.


Jasper Steeds (BUL) 32 Votes
Shannon Jones (STK) 29
John Boland (HAW) 25
Ned Brewer-Maiga (HAW) 24
David Gauci (BUL) 21
Steve O’Beid (BUL) 17
William Kelly (BOM) 16
Chris Gould (HAW) 13
Steph Holmes (BUL) 13
Lawrence Raja (STK) 13



Jasper Steeds (BUL) 50 goals
John Boland (HAW) 32
David Gauci (BUL) 31
Shannon Jones (STK) 31
Ned Brewer-Maiga (HAW) 28
Patrick Whelan (STK) 12
Austin O’Connor Stubbs (BUL) 11
Chris Gould (HAW) 11
Cebby Johnson (HAW) 10
Peter Hyczka (BOM) 10

*VOTING: Throughout the season, Team Captains voted at the end of each match for the purpose of each Club Best and Fairest award. The league Best and Fairest was voted upon by Umpires after each game.

It's only fair to share...Share on Facebook
0Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on LinkedIn

Premier partners

Official Partners

Official licencee / supplier

Community Partners