Published on May 20, 2014 11:29 am

10 Vics selected in Women's Draft

The draft dreams of 10 Victorians were realised last night with the holding of the second annual AFL Women’s Draft.

In all, 28 Victorians will play in the Melbourne FC vs Western Bulldogs Exhibition Match at Etihad Stadium on Sunday June 29.

Those lucky enough to be one of the 24 selections in the 2014 draft, including VWFL veteran Meg Hutchins who was Melbourne’s first pick and No.2 overall, will join those girls who were retained on the lists of the Demons and the Bulldogs after last year’s hugely successful match.

VWFL Manager Darren Flanigan said it was great to have so many girls from the VWFL involved in what is a showcase of the high standard of women’s footy.

“To have 28 of the 48 girls chosen to be part of the exhibition match playing the in the VWFL is indicative of the strength of the league,” he said.

“The level of professionalism in the VWFL ranks continues to grow each year and this opportunity to play at a higher level will prove an invaluable experience for the girls.”

“Hopefully they can take back what they learn to their local clubs and the standard of the female game can continue to grow.”

Flanigan said the exhibition match was a wonderful initiative for women’s football.

“Youth Girls football is the fastest growing segment of our game and it’s fantastic to have events like this for them to aspire to.”

Victorians selected in the 2014 Women’s Draft

Pick 2,   Melbourne Demons: Meg Hutchins, Eastern Devils,
Pick 3,   Western Bulldogs: Darcy Vescio, Darebin Falcons,
Pick 9,   Melbourne Demons: Kaitlyn Ashmore, Melbourne Uni,
Pick 10, Western Bulldogs: Moana Hope, St Kilda Sharks,
Pick 12, Western Bulldogs: Brooke Whyte, Melbourne Uni,
Pick 13, Melbourne Demons: Phoebe McWilliams, St Kilda Sharks,
Pick 18, Western Bulldogs: Stephanie Simpson, Darebin Falcons,
Pick 20, Western Bulldogs: Lauren Morecroft, Diamond Creek,
Pick 21, Melbourne Demons: Dianna Haines, Diamond Creek,
Pick 23 (emergency), Western Bulldogs: Madeline Keryk, Melbourne Uni,

Melbourne FC- Retained Players

Daisy Pearce, Darebin Falcons
Ellie Blackburn, Melbourne Uni
Alicia Eva, Melbourne Uni
Bree White, St Albans
Mel Hickey, Darebin Falcons
Lou Wotton,  Eastern Devils

Western Bulldogs FC- Retained Players

Aasta O’Connor, Darebin Falcons
Lauren Spark, Melbourne Uni
Emma Kearney, Melbourne Uni
Lauren Arnell, Darebin Falcons
Katie Brennan, Darebin Falcons
Elise O’Dea, Darebin Falcons
Karen Paxman, Darebin Falcons
Nicola Stevens, Melbourne Uni
Stephanie Chiochi, Diamond Creek
Natalie Wood, Darebin Falcons
Rebecca Privitelli,  Darebin Falcons
Louise Stephenson Melbourne Uni

It's only fair to share...Share on Facebook
0Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on Google+
0Share on LinkedIn