Published on November 8, 2008 12:37 am

Victoria's top coaches recognised

Victoria’s premium coaches – from Auskick through to senior – have been recognised at the MCG on Friday night.

Victoria’s finest coaches were honored at the MCG tonight at the 21st annual Australian Football Coaches Association Awards Victoria.

More then 260 guests attended the November 7 awards ceremony that included an address by four-time AFL premiership coach David Parkin.

AFL Victoria Coaching Development Manager Steve Teakel said more than 60 coaches had been recognised by their regional AFCA branch for excellence in coaching. From there, 15 Victorian finalists were chosen across five award categories.

“The Victorian AFCA awards night provides an opportunity to celebrate football at all levels and to acknowledge the significant role coaches play in the development of individual players and teams,” Teakel said.

Tonight’s Victorian AFCA winners were:

NAB Auskick Coach of the Year:

Phillip MurdochFitzroy Carlton Auskick

“Phillip has been a Leader Coach at the Fitzroy Carlton Auskick for the past four years where he has demonstrated a sound and consistent leadership to his parent helper coaches and the Auskickers under his care. He is well organized, always clear in his plan for the session and builds upon the skills taught previously.”

Junior Coach of the Year:

Greg SharpSt. Mary’s Junior Football Netball Club in Seymour

“Greg is a well respected coach at the St. Mary’s Junior Football Netball Club where he not only coached the Under-12 team, but acted as mentor for other coaches and players alike. The coaches show much respect for Greg and use his advice and strategies to improve not only their own coaching but the development of the players under their guidance.”

Youth Coach of the Year:

Joel FarrellyFerntree Gully Eagles Junior Football Club

“Joel has coached a team in every age group (Under-9 to Under-16) and for 10 consecutive years at the Ferntree Gully Eagles Junior Football Club. As well as being a coach he has also undertaken the Coaching Coordinator role where he has introduced a range of strategies to develop his team of coaches and a skill development and assessment model for the players. Joel  has a player centred coaching philosophy which is based on getting to know each of his players, identifying their strengths and weaknesses and preparing a plan to further develop their football skills.”

Female Coach of the Year:

Keltie BlakeMontrose Junior Football Club

“Keltie is passionate about her football being a qualified umpire, trainer and coach. Her coaching career commenced last year as the Montrose Under-9s coach and was reappointed to coach the Under-10s this year. In 2008, she successfully made a presentation to the Montrose Football Club about establishing and coaching the Montrose Youth Girls team. Over the season, the opposition complimented the team on its team spirit on and off the ground which was credit to Keltie and her coaching style.”

Senior Coach of the Year:

Jason LappinWangaratta Football Netball Club

“Jason coached Wangaratta to their first premiership for 32 years in 2007 and went back-to-back in 2008. He has based his success on a team style with each individual understanding their playing role and training geared to reflect match day expectations. Coaching the players to be actively involved in developing the game plan reinforces a team approach and spreads the leadership responsibility amongst the group. His preparation for match day is meticulous with dossiers on the opposition – focusing on game style, individual players and key match ups.”

It's only fair to share...Share on Facebook0Share on Google+0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn0