Published on February 12, 2018 3:34 pm

Victoria finalises AFL Wheelchair Big-V squad

Eleven of the best Victorian wheelchair footballers have been selected to represent the state in the upcoming 2018 Wheelchair Aussie Rules National Championship from March 21-23.

Following talent identification trials held across Melbourne, a final representative squad of eight players and three emergencies has been selected to compete in the annual event.

Of the 11-player squad, seven players will return to the side having represented the state in last year’s Championships, while four players will don the Big-V jumper for the first time.

Former Australian wheelchair tennis and basketball player, and Victorian AFL wheelchair representative player, Brendan Stroud will once again lead Victoria’s best wheelchair footballers as head coach.

Held at Cranbourne’s Casey Stadium, the 2018 Wheelchair Aussie Rules National Championships provides people with a disability with the opportunity to play Australia’s traditional game in a safe and fun environment.

Six teams will battle it out for the coveted title, with a representative side from South Australia, Tasmania, Returned Service League Victoria (RSL), Victoria and two teams representing the Australian Defence Force ready to go head-to-head.

AFL Victoria FIDA Football and Access All Abilities Program Manager, Scott Nicholas said Victoria was prepared to go one better in 2018.

“The profile of AFL Wheelchair has certainly grown in recent times, and it’s been fantastic to have Disability Sport and Recreation’s support once again to assist us in growing the game across Victoria,” he said.

“The introduction of the first state-wide Victorian AFL Wheelchair carnival last season has been beneficial in expanding the depth of talent seen at our trial days this year, which will put us in good stead for another competitive performance at Nationals.

“With the inclusion of a number of debutants into the squad this season, Victoria hopes to improve on its standings in 2018 and bring the coveted title to the home of football.”

See below for a list of Victoria’s representatives in the 2018 Wheelchair Aussie Rules National Championships:


  • Marcus Sander – East Bentleigh
  • Richard Amon – East Caulfield
  • Brendan Stroud – Northcote
  • Judeland Ajith Antony – Epping
  • Caleb Logan – Bendigo
  • Peter Temitope Ogunyemi – Dandenong
  • Christy Arulnesathasan – South Morang
  • Louis Rowe (debutant) – Footscray*


  • Mark Mulchay – Box Hill*
  • Grant Maynard – Abbotsford*
  • Ryan Scown – Boronia*

*Denotes 2018 Victorian Wheelchair debutant players



  • COACH: Brendan Stroud
  • TEAM MANAGER: Scott Nicholas
It's only fair to share...Share on Facebook170Share on Google+0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn0

Premier partners

Official Partners

Official licencee / supplier