V/Line Umpire Academy

Each year the AFL Victoria Country Umpiring Department invites  umpiring groups to nominate talented umpires to participate in the V/Line Umpire Academy Program. VLine Umpire Academies

Invitations are sent to young developing field, boundary and goal umpires to participate in Junior Football Programs, in addition to the more experienced umpires from local associations that are then considered for selection in a wide-range of umpiring appointments. 

Read more by clicking 2017 Academy Program outline

2017 Academy dates

In an attempt to provide Academy participants with increased notification with regards to proposed Academy dates in 2017, the following dates have been identified to run Academy sessions. It is hoped that this early notification will maximise attendances.

Venue

AFL Western District – Warrnambool

Walter Oval, Albert Park, Warrnambool

  • Monday 6 February
  • Monday 6 March
  • Monday 3 April
  • Monday 1 May
AFL Barwon – Geelong

St Mary’s Football Club Oval  

(Feb / March) –

Geelong Cricket Ground  (April / May)

  • Tuesday 7 February
  • Tuesday 7 March
  • Tuesday 4 April
  • Tuesday 2 May
AFL Goldfields – Ballarat

Ballarat Grammar School  (Feb / March) – 

City Oval (April / May)

  • Wednesday 8 February
  • Wednesday 8 March
  • Wednesday 19 April
  • Wednesday 10 May
AFL South East & AFL Yarra Ranges –

Beaconsfield / Dandenong

Holm Park Rec Reserve Oval #3,

Holm Park Rd Beaconsfield (Feb / March) – 

Shepley Reserve, Pultney Street, Dandenong

(April / May)

  • Monday 13 February – Beaconsfield
  • Monday 20 March – Beaconsfield
  • Monday 10 April – Dandenong
  • Monday 8 May – Dandenong
AFL Gippsland – Drouin

Bellbird Park, Settlement Road, Drouin

  • Tuesday 14 February
  • Tuesday 14 March
  • Tuesday 11 April
  • Tuesday 9 May
AFL Gippsland – Morwell

Morwell East Football Club, Vary Street, Morwell

  • Wednesday 15 February
  • Wednesday 15 March
  • Wednesday 12 April
  • Wednesday 3 May
AFL Central Victoria – Bendigo

Weeroona Oval, Napier Street, Bendigo

  • Thursday 2 March   5:30 – 7:15pm
  • Tuesday 23 May      5:30 – 7:00pm

 

AFL North East Border – Albury

Xavier College, Fallon Street Albury

  • Tuesday 21 March   6:00 – 7:45pm
  • Tuesday 6 June         6:00 – 7:30pm

 

AFL Goulburn Murray – Shepparton

GVFUA Headquarters, Packham Street, Shepparton

  • Tuesday 28 March 6:00 – 7:45pm
  • Tuesday 30 May     6:00 – 7:30pm

 

AFL Wimmera Mallee – Horsham

City Oval, Horsham

  • Wednesday 29 March 6:00 – 7:45pm
  • Wednesday 19 July      6:00 – 7:30pm

 

AFL Sunraysia – Mildura

No. 1 Oval Twelfth Street, Mildura

  • Thursday 30 March 6:00 – 7:45pm
  • Thursday 20 July      6:00 – 7:30pm

 

 

V/Line Umpire Academy participants’ values 

The football programs for which we will be appointing umpires for the coming season can be found by clicking on 2017 Progams

A set of values, designed and written by 2013 – 14 members of the V/Line Umpire Academy, determine the standards members are encouraged to display at both Academy and local level.

• 2017 V/Line Umpire Academy Program values

 

2016 -17 Summer Training Program

An easy-to-follow summer training program has been designed for all Academy nominees to follow over the December – January phase of your pre-season training campaign. Based on your Rating of Perceived Exertion levels (RPE), this program caters for all disciplines and age groups.

It can be found here by clicking on 2016 – 17 Academy Summer Training Program

 

AFL Model Release Forms

For immediate access to an AFL Victoria Model Release form, please click on the following links

AFL Victoria Model Footage Release – Adult (Final)

AFL Victoria Model Footage Release – (Under 18 years) (Final)

 

Community Umpire Prototype

Throughout 2013-14, Academy members compiled lists of skills / competencies possessed by experienced and talented community umpires and have established a Community Umpire Prototype.

Their exhaustive lists of traits and characteristics can be seen by clicking on Community Umpire Prototype 

 

For more information about possible inclusion in the V/Line Umpire Academy Program contact :

Russell O’Toole
AFL Victoria Country Umpiring Development Manager
Telephone: (03) 8341 6070
Email: russell.otoole@afl.com.au

Premier partners

Official Partners

Official licencee / supplier