Published on November 3, 2017 8:12 pm

2017 Community Football winners announced

A number of Victoria’s top community coaches, volunteers and umpires have been recognised for their outstanding work in season 2017 at the AFL Victoria Community Football Awards on Friday night.

Over 400 guests were in attendance for the annual event which celebrates the contribution of the state’s best grassroots umpires, NAB AFL Auskick volunteers, Australian Football Coaches Association (AFCA) recipients and the tireless work of more than 78,000 volunteers across the state.

Of the 15,000 accredited coaches in Victoria, the state’s finest were recognised across five AFCA Coach of the Year award categories- NAB AFL Auskick, Junior, Youth, Female and Senior, as well as the best Umpire Coaches.

Claiming the 2017 Ray Allsopp NAB AFL Auskick Coach of the Year Award was David Henderson from the Nyah Nyah West United Football Club, while this year’s David Parkin Junior Coach of the Year Award was presented to Stanhope Girgarre Rushworth Giants Junior Football Club coach, Andrew Hipwell.

Melton Junior Football Club’s Troy Scoble was named the Stan Alves Youth Coach of the Year, Darebin Women’s Sports Club coach Jane Lange claimed the Peta Searle Female Coach of the Year Award and Paul Newman took home the coveted Gerard FitzGerald Senior Coach of the Year title for his efforts at the Kyabram Football Netball Club this season.

The top umpire coaches were also recognised for their contribution to the game, with Eastern Football League member Scott Van Nordennen taking home the Umpire Coach of the Year award, while Gippsland Umpire Association’s Paul Vaughan received the inaugural Greg Sidebottom Memorial Umpire Coach of the Year award.

Assisting hundreds of players with their football careers for almost 20-years, AFL Barwon stalwart Barry Orvis was acknowledged for his outstanding contribution to coaching with the Allan Jeans Lifetime Achievement Award.

The award sees Orvis become the ninth person to receive the accolade in AFCA’s 30-year history, joining the likes of Michael O’Dwyer and Robert Hyde among the fellow recipients.

Some of the state’s best NAB AFL Auskick regional managers and long-time volunteers were also recognised for their efforts this season with the Half Time Recognition Awards, Regional Service Awards and Volunteer of the Year Award.

Of the 21 regional NAB AFL Auskick coordinator finalists from across Victoria, Ryan Mackay was named the 2017 Victorian NAB AFL Auskick Volunteer of the Year for his work at the South Barwon NAB AFL Auskick Program.

The AFL Victoria Community Football Awards night also acknowledged the worthy recipients of the AFL Merit Awards, WorkSafe AFL Victoria Country Volunteer of the Year Award, AFL Victoria Metropolitan State Volunteer of the Year Award and recognised Victoria’s National Inclusion Carnival All Australian representatives.

It's only fair to share...Share on Facebook0Share on Google+0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn0

Premier partners

Official Partners

Official licencee / supplier